The House That Built Me – Miranda Lambert


Today is a song day  – This is from one of my 2010 country favourites. It is good for me to skip writing sometimes and put songs that I like. Mostly, it is just lyrics and words that I enjoy these days. This is a track from Miranda Lambert’s’ latest studio album Revolution. It refers about her experience as an adult when she happens to come back home. The house that she had left long gone, still brings back her memories as a kid.

“I know they say you can’t go home again.
I just had to come back one last time.
Ma’am I know you don’t know me from Adam.
But these handprints on the front steps are mine.
And up those stairs, in that little back bedroom
is where I did my homework and I learned to play guitar.
And I bet you didn’t know under that live oak
my favorite dog is buried in the yard.

I thought if I could touch this place or feel it
this brokenness inside me might start healing.
Out here its like I’m someone else,
I thought that maybe I could find myself
if I could just come in I swear I’ll leave.
Won’t take nothing but a memory
from the house that built me.

Leave a Reply

