Chocolate Pavlova


I made a Chocolate Pavlova for my Mom today and she kept complimenting even after I got back home. It’s really a pleasure when you make something for someone and they really appreciate what you have done.

Getting compliments is really nice, especially when it comes to praises about what you have made from scratch, in my case, things that I bake. I don’t care so much about the part where I feel good about myself, I only care for the part where it motivates me to keep moving forward and just keep doing what I do best and ALSO, to try more new stuffs in the future. And that is the importance of compliments and motivations, people!

So don’t forget, if you want to make someone’s day, start by complimenting them. Maybe their hair, or their new shirt, or their 100 years old shoe, anything, but make sure you keep it sincere.

I changed the recipe by adding some cocoa powder to turn it into a Chocolate Pavlova instead of just Pavlova. It was again too little too sweet and I just have no idea on how much I have to reduce the sugar anymore! Plus, reducing too much sugar would result in the Pavlova to become too chewy. The sugar, if I’m not mistaken, helps it become more crispy.

Half of the Pavlova was eaten by my family and friends. The other half was given to the kids. These Kids were supposed to come to get hands on the water colors and stencils but I had to go out. However, I promised them a session with colors and some another chocolate delight next Saturday.

Chocolate Pavlova Recipe:

1 teaspoon cornstarch
3 tsp cocoa powder
3 large egg whites
1/4 tsp lemon juice
1 cups superfine sugar
1 tsp white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla extract
Lots of  chopped chocolate

In the bowl, beat the egg whites until foamy. Add lemon juice and continue to beat. Start adding sugar, a tablespoon at a time, and continue to beat. Add white vinegar and vanilla extract. Now, add cocoa powder and cornstarch. Lastly, fold in the chopped chocolate. Pour the mixture into a pre-heated and greased baking dish. Bake for about 30 minutes or until the outside is dry.

This almost tastes like a brownie but outer crust is crispy and inner moist. Turn the oven off, leave the door slightly ajar and let it cool completely in the oven.

Pour whipped cream and garnish with chocolates of your choice or fruits.  I am rushing here to have 1 more bite. 🙂

Take care people.

One thought on “Chocolate Pavlova

Leave a Reply

