Color Me Red?


To say that I have been blindsided by work this week would be an understatement. There is a lot going on right now – Some of it is very exciting, good and some of it makes me want to crawl under a rock and stay there for a few months. I have just been telling myself that if I can make it through the weekend, everything will be alright. I have got faith.

Sometime later today, I was tempted to Dress New.I took out the brand new perfectly pressed Aeropostale sweater out of the closet. It smelled fresh and crisp. I usually love the fragrance of new clothes, the box that has it folded, its multicolored tag and even the shop that sells it. They all make me feel good and happy. With a self-actualization, I had started finding the perfect pairings to complement my outfit – White Cotton Shirt, Grey Trousers, Few high-inch Stilettos and a White Bag. As I sat on the bed looking at the sweater, I realized that I was in a complete disagreement, asking it, ” Why are you so Red ?” In a dilemma of Wear-Or-Not-To-Wear A RED, I had started wondering…

It was that time of year again. The Dreaded Holiday – That keeps shouting out loud, with all its possible ways and signs which we could not ignore, with its merciful indications, bold colors and challenging us a Dare-To-Wear-Red. A day that all The Single Women everywhere have wished at certain point or another, would fall right off the calendar and stop reminding us of just how single we actually Are!

Hello February. Hello Lovely Month. GO Away.Hello – You, The Dreaded Valentine’s Day.Yes, February 14th sneaks upon us every year like a bad headache, with its stuffed bears and chocolate hearts. The holiday of love, as it is commonly referred. Yet there is nothing about it that makes us feel the slightest bit of loving. What has a Girl to do with herself on a holiday that is meant for two?

I thought and thought again.. until I knew that there are lots of things which a girl can really do on this day without getting weary. Actually the first thing on your to-do list is to drag yourself out of the blues and get into the Valentine’s Day spirit – Because as the old saying goes, “If you cannot beat them, Join them.” Just because you don’t have a Significant-Someone on a Valentine’s Day doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate the most significant person in your life – YOU. Yes, you. The Fearless, Fabulous female staring back at you in the mirror. What better excuse than the official “Day Of Love” to treat yourself with – A Little Pampering, a Great Movie, Fine-Dine or a Good Old-fashioned Girls Night Out? After all, if YOU can’t love you, how can you expect anyone else to? If you’re going to be single on the Valentine’s Day, there are a lot of exciting events tailored for You – Here are a few ways you can paint the town Red this Valentine’s Day:

Bryan Adams Live in Concert – Feb 11, 2011 @ Amanora Park Town, Hadapsar, Kharadi Bypass:

What better way to soak up your singleness than by listening to the sweet crooning’s with none other than Bryan Adams. Singing along with the Rock-star and his master pieces of ‘Summer of 69’ and ‘Everything I Do’ and many lovelicious songs. Hurry up girls and grab your tickets before they get over.

Bunjee Jumping – Feb 12- 13 2011, Panshet, Pune:

All my dear friends and folks, make sure to check out the Bunjee expedition on or between any of these two days and make a sky-high jump with their Bungee’s. Lets enjoy some thrilling action and beat that fear in you with the bungee jumping.

French Cuisine at Sen5es – Feb 13 2011, Oakwood Premier, Koregaon Park Annex, Pune:

What more can be tempting other than savoring the delicacies of the French Cuisine. Celebrating the singletoness at French Food Festival featuring innovative preparations, accompanying wines, french cocktails over an interesting three course dinner. I am sure if you are with all your girl friends on a night out here, the evening is sure going to be beautiful.

Dance Fiesta 2011 – Feb 12 -13 2011, Rohi Villa, Koregaon Park, Pune.

If you can’t make it to the Bryan Adams concert or any of the food festivals, make plans to hit up the dance-party. And this is specially meant for you if you always wished to learn Salsa, Tango, Swings, Modern Contemporary, Jazz, Ballet or a Hip Hop in one of the most happening festivals in town. Its a 2-day Dance Festival, 15 Dance Workshops, International Artists, Dance Nites, Free Buffet, After Parties and Much More. Doors open at 6 PM and you might probably want to get there early.

Paragliding Course (P-1 Level) – Feb 13 2011, Institute of Powered Paragliding, Suzlon Office, Hadapsar, Pune:

Let’s fly high and rise above and beyond this Valentines Day. The pilots of Wings & Flights have been flying and training people to fly Para-gliders and Para-motors for the past 18 years. At the end of this course you will be able to fly independently and knowledgeably. So, if as a kid you ever wanted to have wings and fly, here’s your chance of letting that child in you fulfill those aspirations.

Autumn Winter Collection – Feb 12 – 14 2011, Jewel Square, Koregaon Park, Pune:

All my girlfriends, let us not miss this event and its discounted rates. Might we find the perfect pink dress or the gorgeous black cocktail dress, whichever be the one you are looking for, I am sure you will definitely find it here. I am going to loiter entire day at my favorite apparel brands – Mango and Forever 21. Meet you there. Yay Yay.

Valentines Day – The Movie

Maybe if you are feeling blue and sinking shallow this Valentine and if that’s really the case – Pick up that phone before you drown deeper and call the girls to watch the movie Valentine’s Day. It has the Oscar red-carpet look, featuring Julia Roberts, her niece Emma Roberts, Jessica Alba, Jessica Bail and Taylor Swift. Totally a Girl Power.

Wherever you find yourself this Valentine’s Day – A Bookstore, A Dance-floor, A Coffee-shop, At Home, In Bed watching romantic-comedies or a horror-thriller, don’t forget to take a moment to celebrate Yourself and Your life. You don’t need anyone to complete you or sweep you off on a white horse or buy you dozens of roses to be happy. Instead of waiting around for one to complete you, why not complete yourself…then just let them be the icing on the cake?

So lets stop wishing away at-least for once in your entire life and embrace the beautiful season that you are In. It will never come again!

“The fact is, sometimes it’s really hard to walk in a single woman’s shoes. That’s why we need really special ones now and then to make the walk a little more fun.” – Carrie Bradshaw

4 thoughts on “Color Me Red?

  1. Hi Sonalee. Throughout this grand design of things you receive an ‘A’ with regard to hard work. Where exactly you actually misplaced everybody ended up being in your particulars? You know, they say, details make or break the argument.. And it could not be much more accurate here. Having said that, allow me tell you exactly what did deliver the results.

    Your writing is definitely highly persuasive which is probably the reason why I am making an effort in order to opine. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. Next, although I can easily notice the leaps in logic you come up with, I am not really confident of just how you seem to connect the points which inturn produce your final result. For right now I will, no doubt subscribe to your position but trust in the future you actually connect the facts better. It’s a pleasure to read your writing.

  2. Laughing out Loud. “I am not really confident of just how you seem to connect the points which inturn produce your final result.” I wonder..I dont even know. But I always have my center of attention focussed on the main subject though at times I deviate. And I know that I do random thoughts a lot. But in the end, I prefer deriving honest conclusions. I dont know how but may be I connect the dots very well. 😉

  3. I really like your blog, the way you create posts and subject you covered are just fantastic. I know how tough it can be to get the site visitors interested. I have made the decision to add your blog to my blog list.

Leave a Reply

