God Doesn’t Give Us More Than We Can Handle


In a light conversation with my mom, she said over and over that there are some people among us who are special and blessed with special powers of Perseverance and Persistence. She further said, “God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.” And I was in an agreement and trying to understand the distribution of distress in life. Apparently, it seemed like a simple physics: pain is directly proportional to perseverance. But in all honesty, I wasn’t sure how much I agreed with that statement.In my experience, I have seen just too many people who couldn’t make it or take it, yet they have to go through. I have seen my special dear loved ones battling the illness until eternal salvation. I think I understand why. It is as simple as your manager assigning you the toughest project for execution, knowing the fact that you are the best to handle it. And what my mom really meant with her statement is not a consoling platitude that denies the harsh realities of life. Instead, isn’t it a statement of faith in life itself?

It is a statement that truth is not so much about God but about our very selves, our very souls; even when the worst thing, the unthinkable happens, there’s a truth to the fact that we can handle so much more than we really think we can.

I have learnt that God is faithful and He will not let anyone be tested beyond our strengths but with our testing He will also provide the way out so that you may be able to endure it until the end. I hope, He continues to stay with all of us while we endure in 2012.

1 Cor 10:13 No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, that you may be able to endure it. – The Bible

 

Leave a Reply

